Fast and Fabulous – Vintage Hydrangeas


Oooh have you seen that cute Hydrangea stamp in Stampin’ Up!’s March’s Best of 25 years stamp set… well I sure did and I now own it!!! I absolutely-tutely love blue hydrangeas!  You can get me these and I would be talking about those beautiful delicate blue flowers for years!  With Hydrangeas I love putting our dazzling diamond loose glitter on the petals so that they sparkle when I have my candles lit or the lights hit them… makes for a beautiful and quick floral arrangement…

So I got to thinking… I had a lot of really tiny tiney basic pearls left over from my classes and I was thinking last night they were feeling neglected… so I fell asleep thinking this thought and had a dream about these poor little neglected basic pearls and this is what I dreamed up… (by  now you must think I am nutty to be dreaming about these darn tiny tiney basic pearls!)

flourish top

beautiful card

flourish bottom

Can you see where I placed the tiny tiney pearls?  They are happy now and so am I ha ha!

There are a few tricks to making this card… the card is easy since we let the framelets do all the heavy lifting!

First when you make the card base – affix the white card stock base to the pool party card stock… I used a piece of 8 1/2″ x 11″ whisper white cardstock that I folded at the 5 1/2″ mark.  Make sure your pool party cardstock is a little higher than the folded edge of the top of the whisper white card.  You then place the pool party/ whisper white cardstock into the framelet where the top of the whisper white does NOT meet the top of the scalloped framelet… this will then allow your card to fold because you are cutting the scallop beyond the fold…  looks like this:

su big shot scallop card position

The other trick is simply to get creative with the hydrangea and ribbon… try inking up the hydrangea leaves and stem first with Lucky Limeade and then using island indigo ink up the hydrangea flower portion of the stamp next… then if you really want to get creative take a sponge dauber and ink it up with pool party ink and then dab pool party ink on the hydrangea portion of the stamp… you will have two toned hydrangeas…

Inkspirations:

– I am going to try this card with wisteria wonder and elegant eggplant since I love those colors too!  Different colors will invoke different emotions… experiment with this a bit…

This card took about 30 minutes to make start to finish… now where can you find such a beautiful card in 30 minutes?

Enjoy and hope YOU can try this one… it is very easy and quick…

Marie Signature

PSL_menu5
Easy MDS
Leave a Reply

